Bay City Blues Repeat as 2015 E.S.L. Champions
Defeat Danes in 6 Games
Pipers Fall to Blues in Semis



Semi-Finals: Bay City Blues Defeat Pelham Pipers 3 games to 1

Game 1: Pipers 6  Blues 3

The Pipers scored six runs off of Cole Hamels in the first inning and cruised to an easy 6-3 win. Yonder Alonso had the big hit, a bases-clearing double. Two batters later, Derek Norris his a two-run homer. Johnny Cueto cruised to the win.

Game 2: Blues 3  Pipers 2

Best pitchers' duel of the series. Greinke  held the Pipers to five hits and two runs over seven innings. Jason Heyward's pinch-hit rbi single in the top of the 9th off of Boxberger was the game-winner.

Game 3: Blues 11  Pipers 9

The bats came alive as the Blues ran out to a 10-4 lead with a 17 hit attack against four Pipers hurlers. The Blues' vaunted bullpen nearly failed them, but Uehara notched a shaky save.

Game 4:  Blues 5  Pipers 3

Hamels redeemed himself with a solid start, allowing a single earned run in six innings. Puig and Carpenter had thrre hits apiece as the Blues got revenge against Cueto and moved on to the finals round against the Danes.



Finals: Bay City Blues Defeat Delmar in Six Games

The favored Danes took a 2-1 series lead, but the Blues attack prevailed over the final three games, giving Bay City its 2nd straight ESL title.

Game 1: Danes 4  Blues 1

Jordan Zimmerman was solid through seven innings, Casilla and Holland fanned four over the final two innings. Posey and Rizzo homered for the winners.

Game 2: Blues 14  Danes 9

Heyward continued his post-season heroics with three doubles, a homer and three RBIs. Tulowitzski and Tyler Flowers also went deep. Brantley had four hits and drove in three in a losing cause.

Game 3: Danes 6  Blues 3

Rizzo stayed hot with a two-run blast as part of a five-run Danes outburst in the top of the 5th to erase an early Blues 3-0 lead. The Danes' pen held.

Game 4:  Blues 10  Danes 3

Bay City evened the series with a sixteen hit attack featuring seven doubles, a triple, and a Justin Turner home run. Volquez allowed a single run on two hits over the first six innings for the win.

Game 5: Blues 7  Danes 4

Bay City rallied with two runs in the 7th and two more in the 8th to take a 3-2 series lead. Puig had a double and homer to lead the way.

Game 6:  Blues 13  Danes 4

Bay City struck quickly, with six runs off of Cobb in the top of the first and eventually moved to a 13-2 lead in the top of the 7th. Puig and Heyward continued their heroics, with three hits apiece and a homer run each. Tulowitzki hit his second home run of the series. Greinke was steady for his second win of the finals.


Congratulations to the Bay City Blues for becoming the first team to win back-to-back titles since the 2005-06 Titans. They were the third straight Western Division team to capture the ESL crown. The Blues, who won their first title in 1995, now are three-time ESL Champions.


2003 Bob Kidera. All rights reserved.                                                                Page design by B a s i c T e m p l a t e s . c o m.